Graduated Driver Licensing

GRADUATED DRIVER LICENSING (GDL) LAWS ­allow teen drivers to safely gain driving experience under lower-risk conditions before obtaining full driving privileges. These laws outline limits and restrictions for new drivers ages 15 through 17. Florida’s GDL laws are designed to help teens gradually and safely build their skills and experience behind the wheel. It is important for teens and their parents to understand these laws and obey them.


Learner's License

Age: 15 years old
Hours: For the first three months of holding a Learner's License, driving is only allowed during daylight hours. After the first three months, driving is only allowed until 10 p.m.

• ALWAYS accompanied by a licensed driver 21+ in the front passenger seat.

• Must hold for a minimum of 12 months or until 18th birthday, whichever comes first.

• Required 50 hours of supervised driving, 10 of which must be at night.


Driver License with Restrictions

Age: 16 years old
Hours: Driving is only allowed between 6 AM to 11 PM.

Age: 17 years old
Hours: Driving is only allowed between 5 AM to 1 AM.

Unless driving to or from work OR accompanied by a licensed driver 21+


Driver License

Age: 18 years old
Hours: Anytime

There are no nighttime driving restrictions for those aged 18 and above. Drivers under the age of 21 with a blood alcohol level of .02 percent or more will have their license immediately suspended for six months. A second offense will result in a one year suspension. Refusal to submit to testing (first offense) results in suspension of 12 months, 18 months on a second offense.

Did you know?

Graduated Driver Licensing laws are proven to reduce fatalities, and serious injury crashes among teen drivers. Parents are the first line of defense to keep their teen driver safe on the road! Visit our GDL materials page to receive free resources to keep track of your teen driver’s nighttime restrictions.

Passenger Limitations

Florida Law states that the number of passenger must not exceed the number of seatbelts.

While Florida law does not mandate passenger restrictions for teens, it is advised that a new teen driver does not carry more than one passenger under age 18 who is not an immediate family member, unless accompanied by a parent of legal guardian.

According to a study by AAA Foundation for Safety, crash risk increases for every additional teen passenger your new teen driver has in the vehicle. One teen passenger increases risk by 50%. Two teen passengers increase crash risk by 158%. Three teen passengers increase crash risk by an astounding 207%.

Learn more about passengers as a distraction…

Source: AAA Foundation for Safety

The greatest lifetime chance of crashing occurs in the first 6-12 months after receiving a license. Parents should take an active role in their teen’s driver education, and enforce GDL restrictions to decrease the likelihood of a crash.


How Can Parents Help Their Teen Through This Process?

During the Learner’s License Phase…

During the Newly Licensed Phase…

  • Use a parent-teen driving agreement to set privileges that give teens experience in less risky driving conditions.
  • Continue to monitor the teen’s unsupervised driving, including conditions they drive in and how they are driving.
  • Make opportunities to ride with the teen to continue giving supervised practice in riskier conditions.
  • Frequently emphasize that teens follow all traffic laws and the terms of their driving agreement.
  • Evaluate the teen’s driving and adjust driving privileges as they gain more experience.

Teen Driver Licensure Statutes

322.1615(1) – Minimum age of 15 required for learner’s license

322.161(1)(a) – Minimum duration to hold a learner’s license

322.05(1) – Minimum age of 16 for Class E license

322.05(2)(a) – Learner license required for 12 months

322.05(3) – Required supervised driving for 50 hours, 10 at night

322.16(2) – Nighttime driving restrictions for 16

322.16(3) – Nighttime driving restrictions for 17